Needed: Your short-staffing horror stories

5 Jun

NURSES: Please e-mail me ASAP at john.nemo@mnnurses.org with your short-staffing horror stories. I’ll need your name, phone and where you work so I can verify things. See below for an example of how to send these to me. We want to start educating the general public about just how dangerously understaffed we are and how our patients suffer as a result. We need real stories from real RNs to drive this point home!

Here’s an example of what to e-mail me: On a recent shift one of my patients had to sit in her own feces for 30 minutes because we were so short-staffed. – Jane Johnson, RN, Abbott, 651-xxx-xxxx.

Please send these as soon as possible to me and please share this link and request with your fellow MNA Nurses!

6 Responses to “Needed: Your short-staffing horror stories”

  1. Janet Izzo, RN June 5, 2010 at 1:11 am #

    In my book, “Hotel Hennepin” I relate a story of my experience with short staffing and how it affects every nurse and patient on the unit. It is a horror story for nurses.
    I now speak to nursing students across the country on the topic “Nurses Can Make the Difference” and I believe it with my whole heart. At times, However, we are asked to do the impossible by spreading ourselves so thin.
    People do not realize what it takes to work in a hospital these days and while my presentation is a positive one, I also speak truth so that nursing students will have a realistic view of what is in store for them.
    Colleges do a great job preparing nurses academically, but do a miserable job of preparing them for the social situations.
    On a hospital unit, we become advocates, mediators, social workers, psychologists, secretaries etc etc. A nurse is not just a nurse anymore. We wear many hats and with short staffing, we are asked to be all things to all people.
    Visit http://www.janetizzo.com to read more about Hotel Hennepin. It can be purchased in book stores everywhere.

    • MNA RN June 7, 2010 at 3:58 pm #

      Thank you Janet Izzo, RN!

  2. beaney June 6, 2010 at 4:17 am #

    MNA Nurses, we are pretty amazing. It’s been a long week, and the next will be longer. But I hope all of you know how amazing you are. In 2001 when Allina and Mike Hatch whistleblower scandal hit the media, Allina hired a PR crisis management team. They paid $325,000 9 years ago (according to Strib), so these days it probably cost I don’t know $600,000? for the PR crisis management team for the spokeswoman fiasco. They think hiding behind a spokeswomans skirt gives them an authoritarian mystique, but it just makes them look cowardly. The crack PR team? Well, they took out some ads most people thought laughable and pathetic. They paid a bunch of inept bloggers to saturate the newspapers. Maybe they bought Maureen a new jacket and some hairspray. Whatever you paid them, I hope you kept the receipt. MNA nurses, alone we may be a drop of water, but together we are a tidal wave.

  3. beaney June 7, 2010 at 2:25 pm #

    I remember in the “olden days” an infection control taboo was to be assigned an isolation patient AND a fresh surgical, because of the dangers of cross contamination. Now, they think nothing of giving you a surgical, and a MRSA in isolation. Every time I raise a concern about this they look at me crossed eyed.

  4. MNA RN June 7, 2010 at 3:55 pm #

    Way to go beaney! You are on a roll! MNA RNs! June 10th… TCH here we come, ready or not! 12,000 MNA RNs! 13,000 CA RNs! Let’s make history!

    1-2-3… WHAT ARE WE FIGHTIN’ 4!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  5. jewel June 8, 2010 at 2:31 am #

    Shame on you nurses!

Leave a Reply

