Who Twin Cities Hospitals turn to for replacement RNs

5 Jun

37 Responses to “Who Twin Cities Hospitals turn to for replacement RNs”

  1. MNA RN June 5, 2010 at 4:01 pm #

    Dear God! What are they thinking! What are they doing! Please,someone tell the press that they hired another convicted criminal! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Are they out of their minds! Oh, yea… that’s right… they are! They are now hiring criminals! Yep! But, it’s the MNA RNs that are wrong and liars! Please wake me up from this nightmare!

  2. MNA RN June 5, 2010 at 4:10 pm #

    Betchya the hospital are calling their damage control people right now!!!!!!!!!!!!!! and their nasty PR people too!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! UNBELIEVABLE! And M.S….. how are you going to lie your way outta this one!

  3. cindy June 5, 2010 at 5:30 pm #

    sevcral hundred nurses are coming in support of your walk out. i personally want nothing more than for you to get your request..but, i will be there to take care of the sick people that you all have said were in personally danger from staffing ratio…then you think you are just going to walk out and leave them laying for 24 hours..be glad we are coming ..so maybe some of you won’t have felonies of the conscious when someone dies while you were out front with a picket sign…this is not a steel union

    • Naomi English MPH, RN June 6, 2010 at 1:35 am #

      I have no idea what “felonies of the conscious” might mean. By standing up for staffing and our patients, we are actually working to ensure that patients are safer in hospitals than they currently are.

    • eric June 6, 2010 at 2:43 am #

      Is their something wrong with steel unions. I am sure they fought for safe working conditions like us. Obviously you are the who does not have a conscious… Scab

    • MNA RN June 6, 2010 at 5:39 am #

      You sell your soul and your integrity… You are a mercenary. You are a scab. Here’s a little something for you that I found on the MNA RN Facebook blogs. And it’s just for you:

      THE SCAB
      to cindy:

      by Jack London (1876-1916)
      After God finished the rattlesnake, the toad, and the vampire, he had some awful substance left with which he made a SCAB. A SCAB is a two legged animal with a corkscrew soul, a water brain and a combination backbone of jelly and glue.

    • MNA RN June 6, 2010 at 5:40 am #

      cindy:
      You should go back to the rock that you crawled out from under!

    • MNA RN June 6, 2010 at 6:01 am #

      Hey cindy!
      I dare you to talk like that to a TEAMSTER or a unionized steel worker! Since you are so driven by money… I would even give you a dollar to tell a TEAMSTER or a unionized steel worker what you just said. $5? – $10 – $20? We all know that you can be bought… just wondering how much?

    • Linda June 6, 2010 at 4:03 pm #

      Cindy,
      You are living your values and beliefs. I admire you for standing up with pride to do that. I am again saddened that because you are simply stating your beliefs and intent that the so called ‘caring?’ nurses responding are blasting you with name calling and abusive language. That is really the crisis of this negotiation period. That is what will be remembered. That is what will take such a long time to heal from. VERY SAD representation of Nursing in Minnesota. Don’t forget that the public goes on this site. Do you think they are going to be trusting of nurses to care for them in their most vulnerable times? I frankly would be afraid. The majority of responses on this page are from one person. I still don’t think you are representing ANW nurses. What I know from ANW nurses is that are caring, compassionate and respectful. I believe in ANW and its leadership and its nurses. Here’s the question to think about – What do you want to be known for? When all this is over – what part have you played in the future of nurses and nursing. I certainly know that this hateful abusive behavior does not promote nursing as a profession. How does this keep happening? MNA – you are setting this tone of the negotiations. PLEASE START BEING RESPECTFUL. PLEASE STOP THE ABUSE. If you still chose to abuse others at least leave your name and place of employment. Stop hiding behind ‘MNA RN’. Be accountable.

      • seasonednurse June 6, 2010 at 7:23 pm #

        Thanks Linda for speaking to your colleagues about this behavior. Remember you are PROFESSIONAL NURSES

      • seasonednurse June 6, 2010 at 7:24 pm #

        Thanks Linda for speaking out about the name calling. I would hope during this crisis we would all remember we represent professional nurses first and foremost. I do not think we need to act like other unions might.

      • beaney June 6, 2010 at 9:29 pm #

        Linda
        You really should leave the office more often, and actually go to the floors (you know, the place where the PATIENTS are) and make some observations. You talk about abuse? It’s the patients and staff living with corporate abuse. Funny how we are only looked upon as “professionals” when people like you want us to assume more liability, more responsibility. But when we want some input, some cooperation with management in creating policies, then suddenly we are just mindless worker bees. It goes both ways. As for the pretentious snobbery of “seasonednurse” regarding “those other unions”. Honey, I will proudly stand by any Teamster, any steel worker, any coal miner ANY day. They have more integrity, courage and character than any parasitic money manager I have ever known. If you think that fake snobbery means you are more than just a replacable drone to your managers, think again.

      • Veritas, RN June 9, 2010 at 9:20 pm #

        Linda, you are speaking out in the name of reason and decency amidst this lynch mob. Twin Cities RNs–you need replacements to care for people who have paid into their health plans. This is necessary and morally right. We have chosen to walk away from our patients, so don’t complain about replacements! Of the 12,000 RNs and their immediate and extended family members, more than a few are going to end up in an MNA hospital during a longer strike, so you had best be glad there will be someone there.

        Hospital work is damn hard for direct caregivers–period. But where I work, RNs have been up to the task, are meeting the challenge, are even having a good time. If hospitals are so dangerously understaffed, there would be a lot of burnout and resignations. I am not seeing this. Burned out RNs are depressed, stessed out, lack caring, show lateral hostility, call in sick often, sustain more injuries, lack sleep, have more marital problems, abuse alcohol and drugs, etc. I just don’t see a lot of this. RNs laugh, talk, surf the web at their stations, pass around photo albums, go to break. Not every shift is bad. Those who smoke go out 2-3 times per shift–no matter how bad their assignment is.

        And, if staffing is so bad, how has Magnet been achieved, how have Twin Cities Hospitals become known for such high care standards and excellence in specialties? Why do patients constantly tell me, “Everyone here has just been great. I wouldn’t come to any other hospital than this.” I hear this ALL THE TIME. Good staffing ratios have been in place in order to achieve these goals. Hospitals know this formula is working, and they are not about to destroy the standards that paying members of their HMOs have come to expect. The important thing for RNs is to not allow ratios to get any worse.

        This fixed ratio proposal just won’t work for a rapidly changing census. I need to have flexibility when I am working charge–some RNs will have 3, others 4. They will be discharging some. I need to have RNs who can take admits and transfers. I need to assign acuity, not ratios. When I am on the floor, I often have 3 patients on days or evenings. Why would I always want 4? Keep what you have, including your jobs. When this strike is over, NEVER let someone come in and do your job again!

  4. I am a nurse June 5, 2010 at 9:38 pm #

    I am a nurse, appalled at the language, the sentiments, the acrimony, lack of professionalism, disrespect, and demeanor of so much that I am reading from other nurses. Of each of you I ask; where is the compassion you speak of? When and how do you ‘turn this attitude off’ in the presence of the very people you claim to care about – our patients? I absolutely do not want any of you taking care of my loved ones, or me. I believe it impossible to ‘switch on and off’ the anger so many of you are compelled to share publicly. Each of us at some time made a CHOICE to become a nurse. And each of us choose again each time we renew our licenses. Each of us makes a CHOICE about which employer to work for and each time we cash a check we continue our commitment to support the goals and direction of the organizations where we choose to practice our profession. So many of you are so disgusted with your choice – CHANGE IT – find a place where you can work the way you want to work. Maybe that is California for many of you!?!?
    Listen and learn all sides of any debate – the truth is in the listening. In this situation, my colleagues, there is truth on both sides of the table. I will continue to use my passion for nursing, my knowledge of the issues (which I will continue to work hard to see from all angles) and my own voice – not the voice of a National Nursing Union – to speak up for what I hold as sacred in my profession. Through my caring, I will provide an environment that maximizes the ability for patients to heal. And I will remain proud to say I am a Nurse!

    • MNA RN June 6, 2010 at 2:55 am #

      Bla, Bla, Bla! We are MNA RNs and you just don’t like it! We work UNION hospitals for a reason! We strike June 10th and you don’t like that either! We are 25,000 strong! Go MNA and CA RNs! And maybe it’ you that should just go away…

      • Erik (TC RN) June 9, 2010 at 4:44 am #

        Well…12,000. Sorry. Califnoria said “OVERRULED” to their attempt at an illegal solidarity strike.

      • Erik (TC RN) June 9, 2010 at 4:45 am #

        Rather, *California

    • eric June 6, 2010 at 2:58 am #

      I am nurse, I have question for you when you get off your pedestal… do you only have one quaint comment to write? This comment has been posted in another area on this blog. With all your studying I would think you could come up with more. But maybe you are to busy creating a maximum healing enviroment.

    • Linda June 6, 2010 at 4:06 pm #

      Very well said. Thank you for standing up for what you believe in. Again I see the same couple (MNA RN and Eric) blasting with negativity. Keep strong in your faith and beliefs. You are the nurse I want to care for me!!!

      • eric June 6, 2010 at 10:07 pm #

        Linda is a scab

      • Erik (TC RN) June 9, 2010 at 4:49 am #

        Linda, I have been following your posts over the past few weeks. I would very much like to buy you a cup of coffee. Very excellent perspectives and i applaude your civility. I’ve said in previous posts that had been deleted that disagreement doesn’t equal disrespect, but some people see that another way. Also, MNA, no one deserves to be ridiculed as a scab. Cindy, thanks for being a nurse. It’s a great job, as i’m sure you’re well aware. If this is your first time to MN, please allow me to properly welcome you to the Land of 10,000 lakes. I appreciate you working to take care of the members in our community who need some help.

    • Molly June 8, 2010 at 7:04 pm #

      Amen! I’m sure the public is really behind us now! Last minute scare tactics? If this was more than a publicity stunt for MNA, these “horror stories” should have been made public when they happened. I absolutely agree we need more staff, but throwing tantrums isn’t gonna get us what we need! Hope John Nemo is enjoying his 15 seconds of fame at our expense!

  5. CR June 5, 2010 at 9:50 pm #

    my my CINDY!! aren’t you the sainted one!! are you a felon too? or perhaps me smell a PR rat??!!

    • mna rn June 6, 2010 at 2:23 am #

      cindy may just be suffering from a “felony of conscience” . . .

    • MNA RN June 6, 2010 at 2:51 am #

      Yea! Don’t ya just hate when they leave their droppings! They are so messy!

  6. beaney June 6, 2010 at 12:44 am #

    So, the hospitals will pay hundreds of thousands of dollars to the felon “scabmaster” for one days work. But it is “unsustainable” to pay a measly $1,500.00 longevity bonus to a 25 year loyal, and responsible employee. Guess we know what they “value”.

  7. Naomi English MPH, RN June 6, 2010 at 1:40 am #

    Is it that they only hire people who they’ve met at the probation office? Again, an example of how well thought out the Twin Cities Hospitals decisions are. Luckily, there are many state and federal regulations in place in health care. Hopefully, the scabs will have had background checks…

    • MNA RN June 6, 2010 at 5:53 am #

      Maybe-hopefully-we hope so… they will have had background checks… What do you think the odds are? Would a convicted felon go to all of the trouble to do background checks on SCAB nurses? The TCH didn’t even do background checks on their own Spokesperson Number One, they didn’t do background checks on their “Scab Master” either. I’m starting to think the TCH are oblivious to the obvious!

  8. KnittingRN June 6, 2010 at 2:42 am #

    Dear I am a nurse,
    I have worked for the hospital I am at for 22 years. I chose to work there, I left for a short time and CHOSE to come back because I think it is a great hospital with great staff and we provide great care. I love what I do as a staff nurse every day, I give 110% everytime I come to work. I work through breaks, I do all my mandatory ed. I follow along with all the new mandates that management sends out almost weekly. I voice my opinion but I diligently do what is expected of me and Yes I appreciate my paycheck and the ability to work part-time and raise a family. I have been burned out but what gets me through are my co-workers and patients who respect me and appreciate me. That is all we are asking. Over the last 3 yrs or so management has changed. They say out of one side of their mouth they love their nurses, oh we got Magnet status, oh we are in the top 10 for hospitals, or diabetes care or stroke care, cardiac care. They achieved that through the team work of DR’s, nurses, aides, hucs and everyone working for the goals of the hospital. But now when we are just asking that we want out patients to be safe, we are literally ignored!! When we are allowed to staff to what the nurses feel is a safe level the whole shift goes more smoothly. I will not just lie down and take it this time because what I see management doing is not in the best interests of the patients or my license. I want us to work together like we should to keep our hospital in the top 1 % of patient care! But there has been no discussion even about the real issues at stake. I will stand up for my career and we deserve respect and appreciation for what we do as we respect others. And your right if this disintegrates into a horrible place to work I will be finding a new job. I am proud to be a nurse and always will be but I also want to be proud of my employer and to tell all my family and friends that I want them to come to the hospital I work at, “my hospital”.

  9. RN TWIN CITIES June 6, 2010 at 1:17 pm #

    Dear I am a nurse,

    Pack your bags then and move to California. Your opinions are that of the minority anyway. Maybe you will be working on Thursday??

  10. Med Tech June 6, 2010 at 6:15 pm #

    I am a med tech at a Twin Cities hospital and I have been on the fence about your strike. I’m with you guys on the staffing issue, but the rest of us in the hospitals didn’t get a raise this year, some didn’t get one last year. I wonder if your union could compromise on the raises and stick to your guns on the staffing ratios?
    Also, the comments being left here are gross!!! Someone has to take care of the patients while you strike. This is the attitude I confront when I call up to the floors with critical values and this is why so many other people in healthcare can’t stand nurses!!

  11. Ha June 7, 2010 at 4:19 pm #

    You need to look at the history of MNA when looking at hiring felons. You need to remember the representatives guilty of embezzlement. I really hope that you nurses are getting the whole truth, and aren’t regurgitating union lip service. What about the CNAs that aren’t getting the support they need from you?

    • Al MN RN June 9, 2010 at 11:00 pm #

      What are you talking about? On our unit we value our NA’s couldn’t do our job without them.

  12. Al MN RN June 9, 2010 at 10:58 pm #

    I am proud to be a Nurse, This is my 2nd career choice. I worked in industry. They squeezed the life out of the office, wanted us to be machines. I went into nursing as a way to work with patients to make a difference like many other nurses. I was glad to work for a non profit hospital, they always seemed to have the patients first, I always heard whatever the patients need let’s do it. Something changed 4 year’s ago when then they started hiring non MN folks as CEO,etc. At that point in was all about $$$$$, how much can we save, cut, do without,layoff workers, add more work to those who are left. We have housekeepers, transport, pharmacy, etc doing more with less. for what? To increase the bottom line. Twin Cities hospitals are building beautiful buildings, giving bonuses to upper management types.
    I say it is time for our hospitals to get back to their roots. PATIENT CARE BABY. It is time to look at their mission statements and start living them.

  13. MNA RN June 9, 2010 at 11:42 pm #

    MNA RN // June 9, 2010 at 10:43 pm | Reply

    To the SCABS:
    You are the lowest form of a human being that I can think of! You are parasites and mercenaries! You sell your souls for money! You make me sick to my stomach! Go ahead and get your blood money… Remember that there is karma in this life and you are earning yours now. What a poor example of behavior you set. You have to get up in the morning and look yourself in the mirror! Do you even have a conscious? You should all be ashamed of yourselves! You surrender whatever integrity that you might even have… the minute you cross our MNA picket lines! Shame on you! What kind of upbringing did you have? Must make your parents want to hang their heads and cry… Did they teach you the difference between right and wrong? Personally, you make me sick. But not sick enough to ever let one of you ever touch me or one of my family members or friends. Did you just see where the expert MD just said that she highly questioned what would be going on inside of those hospitals tomorrow. Where are those MDs that were on the news last night that said: “all is well…” Well, guess what! NO: all is not well! Did anyone ask how many of them have: interests at stake… like sitting on the Board of Directors, personal and monetary investments, political priorities… And SCABS you are disqusting!

    MNA RN // June 9, 2010 at 10:56 pm | Reply

    Please Dear Public:
    If by any chance that you do need hospital services and we sincerly hope that you do not. Please bring in family members with you to advocate for you and to be your guardian angel. Ask questions! Stay alert! Be aware of the nurses and what they do! Be vigilant. Make sure they are being good nurses!

    MNA RN // June 9, 2010 at 11:13 pm

    Please view this:
    Doctor: “I wouldn’t depend on the staffing in the hospitals tomorrow.”: http://wp.me/pMu8d-ct
    about 1 hour ago via WordPress.com from West Seventh, St. Paul

    MNA RN // June 9, 2010 at 11:34 pm | Reply

    The broadcast stated:
    The authors analyzed strikes in New York State over a 20-year period and found that inpatient hospital mortality increased by 19.4 percent and that readmission within 30 days increased by 6.5 percent.

    So… are you going to believe the MDs with special interests, the hospital managers, the Million Dollar CEOs, the highly paid Public Relation Firms that the hospitals hired to come to this site to harass us on a regular basis and use “pretend names”, the hospital spokesperson Number Two (because the first one was a convicted criminal), the scabs that were hired and contracted out by: “The Scab Master” (CONVICTED FELON!) one of the SCAB companies that the hospitals hired to find (and I put this too kindly: replacement nurses) AKA: SCABS! (We sure hope they have real credentials and valid licenses!) Hired by guess who: The Twin Cities Hospitals! They do not tell the truth! They are not genuine.

    NO! All is not well!
    And that is WHY we will be walking the walk tomorrow!
    P.S. To all of those who want to slam me for what I believe to be the truth… for having the guts to say it… for having a spirit that will stand up and fight for what is wrong and say enough is enough. Oh, well…
    I am a MNA RN and I will stand and walk in SOLIDARITY tomorrow with my brothers and sisters! If you would like to talk to me face to face tomorrow and tell me to my face that you think that I am wrong… you know where I will be tomorrow! Let’s chat!

    Your comment is awaiting moderation.

  14. dasmith July 1, 2010 at 7:25 pm #

    This does not matter if you are a resident of Minnesota. You worked in this state, there are laws to protect you.

    The Minnesota Attorney General wants to hear from you if HealthSource Global didn’t pay you for working in Minnesota:
    http://www.ag.state.mn.us/ElectronicForms/ComplaintForm.pdf

    Also there are provisions in state law which says you must be paid within 24 hours as a former employee. If you have made such a demand under state law, the Dept of Labor & Industry wants you to make a complaint with their agency so they can recover your wages:

    If you do not work for the company, please make a demand that your wages be paid within 24 hours. If wages are not paid in that time period, please call us to file a wage claim.

    If you are still an employee of the business, then the business must pay wages by July 11, 2010, according to Minnesota Statutes 181.101. If not paid by that date, please call us to file a wage claim.

    John Sti ffin
    Community Services Representative
    Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry
    6five1-2eight4-5two4five 6five1-2eight4-5seven4zero (fax)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Who Twin Cities Hospitals turn to for replacement RNs « Minnesota Nurses -- Topsy.com - June 5, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Geri Katz, Minnesota Nurses. Minnesota Nurses said: Who Twin Cities Hospitals turn to for replacement RNs: http://wp.me/pMu8d-c1 […]

Leave a Reply

