Unsafe Staffing Stories (June 8, 2010)

8 Jun

Please take a moment to read the first wave of unsafe staffing stories from Twin Cities nurses.

3 Responses to “Unsafe Staffing Stories (June 8, 2010)”

  1. Judy Slomkowski June 8, 2010 at 11:59 pm #

    Thank you all for telling your story.
    I am so proud of all of you and my heart goes out to all of you. The news conference was well done,
    thanks to all who participated. Who was the congressman who spoke,I did’t get his name.
    Thanks MNA for your hard work.
    See you on the picket line.

  2. Barbara June 9, 2010 at 2:06 pm #

    After having outpatient gall bladder surgery at St. John’s I was kept overnight due to a problem I had with the anesthesia. The only nurse I saw before leaving the following day was the surgical nurse. I was told not to get up to the bathroom without assistance. I called for help but no one came so I did it by myself. I was vomiting & called for help, no one came. My visitor helped me. In fact, my visitor went to the nurse’s station & asked for help & he was told how short staffed they were & still no one came. I constantly asked the nursing assts to send a nurse in but, no one came. The next day as I was about to leave, with my coat on, a nurse called out, “wait, you can’t leave until I walk you”. I told her, “you can watch me walk out the door.”
    I filled out a patient (dis)satisfaction questionnaire but never heard a word. I am an RN & know all about short staffing but that doesn’t help much when you’re the patient.

  3. JC June 11, 2010 at 5:02 am #

    Thank you for sharing the truth

Leave a Reply

