Strike Date Set – July 6

25 Jun

NURSES: Please READ THIS IMPORTANT UPDATE for a video and information pertaining to our pending strike.

7 Responses to “Strike Date Set – July 6”

  1. MNA RN June 26, 2010 at 3:10 am #

    Very good article…
    SCABS defy logic

    http://www.nursingcenter.com/library/JournalArticle.asp?Article_ID=482132

    I’m ready to walk the walk! MNA RNs stand in solidarity! Shame on the Twin Cities Hospitals! The truth is getting out there… people are starting to hear it and see it and believe it. MNA RNs are standing on the right side of what is right and what is wrong.

    • MNA RN June 26, 2010 at 3:19 am #

      Click the first PDF Version yellow button and article will show up.

      Worth reading.
      Go MNA RNs! All 87% of us!

      • Uffda June 26, 2010 at 12:44 pm #

        Yes, MNA RN, that was an article worth reading, and I encourage others to read it to. As it states, STRIKEBREAKING IS A BIG BUSINESS!

  2. Terry S. June 26, 2010 at 11:56 pm #

    today i read an article in the mpls tribune,which quoted aaron sojourner asst prof,carlson school of business.in it he stated that the nurses can be permanently replaced.i don’t believe that is correct and i hope the union can elaborate on that,if and when the nurses go out under “unfair labor practices” they can not be permanently replaced.and if the nurses are lock out they will be able to collect unemployment wages.the union may have to go to court to force this to happen but i believe that it should be a done deal after that.

  3. Beatrix Kiddo June 27, 2010 at 2:40 pm #

    Some SCABS are not being paid. Comments from: http://www.indeed.com/forum/job/nurse-rn/Travel-HealthSource-Global-Staffing-have-time-your/t26979/p10

    “I worked the MN strike and have been calling for 3 days. Have not been paid yet 12 days post strike. I keep calling the 800 number and they tell me that hospital had problems with timecards… hummm. Now I am questioning this agency. I just even had a rep tell me to look up the owner and he is a shady guy. WOW a employee speaking bad of whom he works for Double flag!”

    “I have heard rumors that Daniel was running this company and would very much like to know if this is true. I was at the MN strike and heard from at least 4 Rn’s that the company owed them from $3000.00 to $300.00 dollars.”

    “Please don’t anyone travel with healthsource. Almost 2 months since the PA strike and I haven’t seen my money and my friend never got her referral bonus! They are a scam and should not be in business. I confronted Gary in Minneapolis about my money and he told those of us wanting our money that we were not important and the people of the new strike were. We were not his priority. Yeah, I get it once the strike was over no longer do we matter. He gets the money, we get screwed!!! Stay away from them.”

    “I am in the same boat. I worked the MN strike and have yet to see a paycheck. I have been lied to several times now about where my paycheck is. I had to refax the timecard and again have heard nothing. I cannot believe this company can still be in business! So how do we get a Class Action Suit going???”

    “I to am getting the run around from healthsource global and would not recommend them to anyone. I worked the one day Minn strike which turned in to 2 16 hour days. So much for that great money which I still haven’t been paid, I have called every day since the strike ended, was never allowed to talk to anyone in a managerial position as they were all in “meeting or on break” I never received any calls back except from Josette who tried to help me without success. I have been lied to, given multiple excuses, yet no money. Please if you choose to go out to work for an agency DO NOT CHOOSE HALTHSOURCE GLOBAL. Thanks for letting me get this off my chest and if anyone else has had this experience with this company I would love to hear from you.”

    “I’m in if you get a class action suit against HSG, I have called every day since the strike ended and have gotten nothing but the run around. They are liars and cheats and need to be reported to the better business bureau, which I plan to do tomorrow.”

    “I have had the same problem. I worked the first Minnesota strike and have still not been paid one cent and it’s been over 2 weeks. I am with you on signing. They need a wake up call. They are very unorganized.”

    “I am with everyone else I have been calling Health Source Global for the last 2 weeks and have not recieved a pay check for working the Minnesota strike!!! They are full of ####”

  4. Beatrix Kiddo June 27, 2010 at 11:53 pm #

    A TIMES INVESTIGATION
    Temp firms a magnet for unfit nurses

    With scant regulation and some agencies’ poor screening, workers can hopscotch from job to job.
    Firms that supply temporary nurses to the nation’s hospitals are taking perilous shortcuts in their screening and supervision, sometimes putting seriously ill patients in the hands of incompetent or impaired caregivers.

    Emboldened by a chronic nursing shortage and scant regulation, the firms vie for their share of a free-wheeling, $4-billion industry. Some have become havens for nurses who hopscotch from place to place to avoid the consequences of their misconduct.
    http://www.latimes.com/news/local/la-me-nurses6-2009dec06,0,1174984.story?page=1

  5. dasmith July 1, 2010 at 7:48 pm #

    This does not matter if you are a resident of Minnesota. You worked in this state, there are laws to protect you.

    The Minnesota Attorney General wants to hear from you if HealthSource Global didn’t pay you for working in Minnesota:
    http://www.ag.state.mn.us/ElectronicForms/ComplaintForm.pdf

    Also there are provisions in state law which says you must be paid within 24 hours as a former employee. If you have made such a demand under state law, the Dept of Labor & Industry wants you to make a complaint with their agency so they can recover your wages:

    If you do not work for the company, please make a demand that your wages be paid within 24 hours. If wages are not paid in that time period, please call us to file a wage claim.

    If you are still an employee of the business, then the business must pay wages by July 11, 2010, according to Minnesota Statutes 181.101. If not paid by that date, please call us to file a wage claim.

    John Sti ffin
    Community Services Representative
    Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry
    6five1-2eight4-5two4five 6five1-2eight4-5seven4zero (fax)

Leave a Reply

